Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

Well tigtog from over yonder at Hoyden About Town has a post up about how the anti-Camilla crap gets her riled.

I really hadn’t thought about it you know – I grew up in a bit of a working class area and anti-Camilla jokes were a dime a dozen. I’m sure I was guilty of some teenaged bitchy comments about Charles cheating on Diana with Camilla and what the heck was that about? (Being young and snotty and assuming no one over 30 was worth looking twice at) I had no idea of the back story of them being madly in love but him being forced into marriage with Diana, or honestly any idea of anything at that age being busy being a snotty know it all.

But reading tigtog’s articulation of just why the anti-Camilla campaign bothered her, it hit me like a ton of bricks how wrong it is that this woman is lambasted simply for appearing her (and his) age, and considered ‘ugly’ for that. I really think it’s the first time I’ve genuinely looked at Camilla.

The photos included are really rather sweet – they clearly enjoy each other’s company immensely, and in a comment Rachel WA linked to another photo stream in which their obvious mirth made me laugh out loud and maybe fall a little bit in love with them as a couple.

Who knows what they’re like as people, but as a couple, well honestly, if you’ve known each other that long and give each other that much joy and delight? I think that’s pretty frackin awesome.

