Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

So when the Kyle/Jackie O ‘incident’ blew up (where they agreed to have a scared and upset 14 year old strapped to a lie detector so her mum could ask her about whether she was having sex and where when she said she was raped at 12 Kyle immediately brushed this off and asked if that was her ‘only experience’…yes, with sex).

I wanted to write an articulate post at the time but my head kept exploding. I wanted to point out that it did not *matter* that he didn’t know what she was gonna say, that the WHOLE PREMISE is sick and messed up, that even if you thought it wasn’t, it surely was when they hooked a CHILD to a lie detector for the amusement of their audience…when they goofed along discussing how she was scared, how she was right, that it was not fair…and they still fucking did it.

This was *not* surprising – this was the inevitable outcome of the sorts of shit they pull – again, and again and again. The show is trash, the people are arseholes, the station is irresponsible and all of it combines to bring out the worst in humanity: hey, let’s crowd around the radio and guffaw over people’s intense misery, HOO-boy, what a treat!

Anyway, there are many jumbled together thoughts on this, and I keep thinking I should post on it, but other people are articulating it all perfectly in elsewhere locations. I don’t know how I missed it, but I stumbled across Richie’s post on how very definately ‘ignore it and it’ll go away’ is NOT the answer. It’s a fucking corker of a post, so please go read it.

Richie? I love you!

