Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

As I posted earlier, there is a Twitter thing cranking to compile a Hottest 100 list of songs by female artists. It’s actually a really interesting and satisfying process, you go through your collection and realise how many excellent songs you have – and also you start going ‘Hey, wait, that’s SO not her best, I’m voting for [x]’.

So anyway, I’m aware that there’ll be people for whom twitter is a new thing/they can’t be bothered. So if you want to submit songs, you can do it here, and I’ll submit them to the @Hottest100Women twitter account and I’ll publish the results. I think it would be awesome to have this list EVERYWHERE and for people to go ‘Wow, that is a far more interesting compilation than the Hottest 100 list was’.

So far:

5 top songs so far: Seether (Veruca Salt), Supernova (Liz Phair), Strange Fruit (Billie Holiday), Nothing Compares 2 U, Violet (Hole).

I’d far rather see other Sinead songs in there. I love that every time I read the list of nominations I think of more songs I’d like to nominate, more artists, more favoured songs of artists already included.


Anyway, so get amonst it, have at it, how hard is it to submit it in comments here if you’re not a Twitter person? If you’ve got a beef over the shittiness of the JJJ list, or simply listen to female musos you wish people listened to more, then what are you waiting for?

