Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

So I got the following as a comment on another thread and was a little concerned it might get lost there. I don’t have the time to write anything beyond a little introduction – I think this sort of stuff is worthwhile. I’ve seen stuff gather momentum on Twitter (though I’m still getting my Tweet Legs and don’t really quite grasp the workings as yet) and I think that a list of female artists could be a good thing to see after the defensive cockfest of the Hottest 100 of all time and all the justifying and rationalisation of the almost total absence of women. If jjj/mainstream media won’t let women in, perhaps it’s time we made our own list of brilliant female anthems, and gave the rest of the world the finger.

So, you know, go check it out:

Hi there,

In response to JJJ’s Hottest 100 being dominated by male artists, I’ve set up a Twitter account to collate a female-focussed Hottest 100. It’s @Hottest100Women. If this is an idea you are interested in, or support, I’d love it if you could write about it on your blog. If not, I totally understand :)

The way I intend to run the poll, is to ask people to write posts with @Hottest100Women or #Hottest100Women in the post, nominating the songs that get their votes. Then I can collate all the votes (after I get some meaningful number), and find out what the #Hottest100Women songs are, and publish the results through Twitter.

Thanks for your time, hope you’re having a great day :)
-@Hottest100Women

