Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

At 4:00 I heard the news about the elections and protests in Iran, the fact that several opposition members are missing and that internet and mobile access has been cut.

At 5:09 after an hour of poking around on Twitter and watching Al Jazeera, I checked the SMH page. Nothing on the main section: Big story about a kid and a meteorite, cops and tazers, cures for baldness and in the “Breaking News” section, not Iran, not Pakistan, but the Wallabies, the Thunderbirds and Yemen. Once you scroll past David Carradine and an allegedly broken hearted Silverchair member, and you know, my sympathies, but get real people, and if you look under the ‘World’ section you get this:

West cautious on Ahmadinejad victory in Iran

Mahmoud Ahmadinejad 10:09am | World powers including Britain and the United States have reacted cautiously to the disputed Iranian presidential election in which incumbent Mahmoud Ahmadinejad has been declared winner.

Right-o then, that’s enough about those funny-talking foreigners I guess.

Seriously, I’ve got Al Jazeera running and I’ve learned more about the state of the world (a really fucking broad range of countries and topics) in the last twenty minutes than in I’d think two years of SMH coverage. Just saying is all.

(5:28 and a video popped up while I was watching of the footage that’s been doing the rounds for at least an hour and a half)

