Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

…and she’s not afraid to use it. In a context where you’re torn between saying ‘That word…I do not think it means what you think it means’ or accepting that she indeed *does* know what it means and is quite deliberately calling women who dare to freely shag a man deplorable/abominable/hateful….with the overtones of excrement. Niiice!

So women who shag Duchovny’s fictional character are execrable, and a man who knocks up a far younger woman behind his wife’s back (all the while professing to be Captain Holy Pants – Holy as in Lah di dah I’m so friggin Righteous, not these pants they have a hole, might as well cheat on my wife), ditches his family and heads for the hills is poor diddums…midlife crisis-ing. I see.

But whatever the cause, the questions that got me wondering are these: When a man ditches his wife and three kids for a life with another woman in another country in another age demographic, do you diss the man, or do you put it down to him suffering from a midlife crisis? And is it ever acceptable?

Because, for anyone who’s had any sort of crisis, you’d understand all too well the feelings of worry, frustration, feeling trapped, invisible and that time is quickly running out.

“I’ve got half my life ahead of me,” they say. “Why should I stick around and be unhappy for the other half of my life when I could be doing something about it!?”

So essentially what you’re saying is that wives and children equal misery, so therefore men should ditch them to be happy and have a Get Out Of EVERY Jail Free Card, which includes being able to fuck anyone they like no matter who gets hurt and simultaneously that women who reject in any way the stereotypical hetero/monogamy/marriage and kids thing are detestable worthless sluts. Glad we’ve got that cleared up.

Execrable? It only applies to your “writing” Sam.

