Skip to content

Fuck Politeness

This is a revolution, not a public relations movement

So remember how I made that unfulfilled promise of detailing the lives of women who defied societal rules under the banner of Martha Gellhorn’s Wall of Awesome?

Turns out I’m too busy/lazy/take your pick to research and write mini biographies on a regular basis, at least to date.

But today’s honorary member (I have no clue about her life story) is Nell McAndrew fighting off all kinds of bullshit proprietary attitudes to women’s body and defying social pressures by continuing to feed her 2 1/2 year old in public, and saying:

“I get negative comments all the time, but that’s their problem,” Ms McAndrew told the Daily Mirror.

“Breastfeeding is the most natural thing in the world – and it’s so good for my son that I don’t see any reason to stop.

“I would never tell other women they have to breastfeed because it’s down to individual choice.

“And by the same token if a mum wants to carry on breastfeeding until their child is five, six or seven that that’s fine too.”

The 35-year-old, who has also posed nude for Playboy, said she received “dirty looks” from strangers when she breastfed Devon on public transport or in cafes.

“It’s ironic when getting your breasts out in other areas is actively encouraged – something as an underwear model I’m well aware of,” Ms McAndrew said.

AND

Ms McAndrew said breastfeeding beyond a year should not be taboo.

“Now if people ask why I’m still breastfeeding I say, ‘Well why not?’,” she said.

“Instead of having to think up an explanation to satisfy them, I think they should give me some actual proof of why it’s a bad thing.

“They never can.”

Well fuck ME if that’s not totally fuckin awesome. Here is someone who has been WORSHIPPED as RAWR, HAWT CHICK, saying “Fuck you all, it’s my body, and my child and I’ll do what I think is best, and your position is idiotic, so go get bent”, who marks the bullshit double standards, who just tells it like it is, AND who says, no YOU prove to ME that what I’m doing is wrong. WOW!

High five!!

And, teeny tiny fairy clap to SMH for FINALLY not being gross about it, but actually including some facts about recommendations for breastfeeding. Tiny cos they really could do/say more…but still, you know they’re usually so shit…

(My one point of confusion is they say she’s a ‘real life Lara Croft, Tomb Raider…what? Does she raid tombs and shoot stuff, or is she just like active and fit?)

Tags: , , ,

